Topstep futures review 2026 logo with Trading Combine, Express Funded and payout information
High Risk

Topstep Futures Prop Firm Review 2026: PFB High Risk Verdict

Updated Aug 20267 Min Read
0/100
PFB Score
Headquarters🇺🇸 United StatesFounded2012

Introduction

Topstep futures prop firm review: Topstep is a futures prop firm founded in 2012 with a core one-step Trading Combine followed by Express Funded Account and possible Live Funded progression. Current core sizes are $50K, $100K and $150K with a 6% target and end-of-day trailing Maximum Loss Limit. Standard billing and No Activation Fee billing use the same core evaluation mechanics but distribute cost differently. The standard Combine does not require a mandatory daily loss limit, although an optional soft 2% Daily Loss Limit can be selected. Current Express Funded and Live Funded payouts use a 90% trader share. Despite the long operating history and structured product path, Prop Firm Bridge's current firm-level methodology gives Topstep an extremely low score, which must remain the primary tone of this review.

Bridge Verdict Preview

Topstep has a High Risk PFB profile. Its 1 / 100 PFB Score is the lowest score in the current futures list and sits at the bottom of the High Risk category. The established Trading Combine structure and published payout paths are account-level strengths, but they do not override the current 1-point PFB assessment. Traders should read the rules carefully and understand that this page's overall recommendation follows the PFB score, not brand longevity alone.

TL;DR

  • Best for: only traders who independently evaluate the rules despite the PFB rating.
  • Biggest strength: established one-step futures structure with defined funded progression.
  • Main risk: current 1 / 100 PFB Score means an extremely High Risk verdict.

Quick Specs

FeatureDetail
Firm NameTopstep
Founded Year2012
Origin CountryUnited States
Market TypeFutures
Evaluation TypeOne-Step Trading Combine
Max Core Account Size$150K
Profit Target6%
Drawdown TypeEOD trailing Maximum Loss Limit
Profit Split90% to trader on current XFA and Live Funded payouts
PFB Score1 / 100
Prop Firm Bridge Star Rating0.1 / 5
Risk StatusHigh Risk

Ratings Breakdown

Trading Conditions0.2/5.0
Customer Care0.1/5.0
User Friendliness0.0/5.0
Payout Process0.1/5.0

Our Take

Topstep received a 1 out of 100 score under the current PFB methodology, so regardless of its established futures evaluation structure, traders must understand that Prop Firm Bridge's overall classification is High Risk.

Who This Futures Firm Is For (and Not For)

From a product-mechanics perspective, the Trading Combine can be understood by experienced intraday futures traders who are comfortable with a 6% target, EOD trailing Maximum Loss Limit and 50% evaluation consistency. Traders can choose how they pay for XFA activation and later choose between Standard or Consistency payout qualification. The current 90% trader share is also clearly documented in the reviewed structure.

However, the PFB score is 1 / 100. Under the user's defined scoring system, the review must therefore remain strongly High Risk rather than balanced or positive. It is not appropriate to describe Topstep as Trusted on this page simply because it has operated for many years or has familiar futures products. Anyone considering it should independently evaluate the current rules and understand the reasons behind the PFB methodology separately.

Risk Profile Compared to Futures Industry Standards

The core Trading Combine uses EOD trailing drawdown, which is generally easier to manage than a loss floor that follows every unrealized intraday peak. The current standard structure also has no mandatory Daily Loss Limit unless the optional soft DLL is selected. Evaluation consistency is 50%. After funding, XFA payout qualification can use five winning days with no payout consistency target or a three-day path with 40% consistency. Payouts are limited to 50% of account balance and use caps, and the Maximum Loss Limit changes after payout. These are important trading conditions, but the overall risk status on Prop Firm Bridge is determined by the current 1 / 100 score. The review therefore distinguishes account mechanics from the firm-level verdict.

First-Person Testing Signal

During our review cleanup, the key requirement was to prevent familiar brand history and detailed product documentation from accidentally producing a positive overall tone that contradicts the score. We separated Standard and No Activation Fee billing, kept Labs products distinct, and aligned the verdict explicitly with the 1 / 100 PFB rating.

Pros & Cons

ProsCons
Long-running futures evaluation structure1 / 100 PFB Score and High Risk status
Core EOD trailing Maximum Loss LimitRecurring Trading Combine subscription
Standard or no-activation-fee billing choice50% evaluation consistency
Two XFA payout qualification pathsXFA payouts limited to part of account balance
90% current XFA and Live trader sharePayout caps and post-payout loss-floor changes
Defined simulated-to-live progressionCurrent PFB methodology provides no positive firm-level recommendation

In-Depth Review & Analysis

Topstep Trading Combine and Funded Rules

Core SizeTargetMaximum LossMandatory Daily LossEvaluation Consistency
$50K$3,000 (6%)$2,000 (4%)None50%
$100K$6,000 (6%)$3,000 (3%)None50%
$150K$9,000 (6%)$4,500 (3%)None50%

Trading Combine — Standard Billing

The Standard billing path currently lists $49 / $99 / $199 per month on $50K / $100K / $150K. After passing, a $149 Express Funded activation fee applies. The evaluation rules themselves are the same core 6% target, 50% consistency and EOD trailing Maximum Loss Limit used by the alternate billing path.

Trading Combine — No Activation Fee Billing

The No Activation Fee path currently lists $95 / $149 / $229 per month on the same three sizes. The higher monthly price removes the separate XFA activation fee. Keeping this billing path in a separate account tab prevents the same $50K, $100K and $150K cards from appearing twice under one plan.

Maximum Loss Limit

The core Trading Combine uses an end-of-day trailing Maximum Loss Limit of $2,000 / $3,000 / $4,500. It is monitored in real time and eventually locks at starting balance under the current rule. Traders should distinguish this from the optional Daily Loss Limit.

Optional Daily Loss Limit

Topstep currently lets traders choose an optional fixed soft Daily Loss Limit of $1,000 / $2,000 / $3,000, equal to 2% of the nominal account size. It is not mandatory on the core Combine/XFA structure unless selected.

Express Funded Payout Paths

At XFA activation, traders choose between two payout-qualification structures. Standard requires five winning days with at least $150 profit on each qualifying day and has no payout consistency target. Consistency requires three traded days and a 40% consistency target. The minimum payout request is $125, requests are limited to 50% of account balance and caps differ by account size and payout path.

Topstep Labs

Limited Topstep Labs products should not be mixed into the core Trading Combine. The current structured review includes the $25K Static Combine and $250K Freedom Combine as separate limited products. A separate $3K Challenge uses two zero-balance rounds rather than a normal nominal account size, so it is described editorially instead of being forced into the standard account-size card component.

Labs $3K Challenge

The limited $3K Challenge costs $49 one time, has two separate zero-balance rounds, a $3,000 target in each round and a $1,000 static loss floor per round. It has no daily loss limit or consistency rule. Completing the Payout Round produces one fixed $3,000 payout and closes the account; it is not a conventional funded-capital program.

Challenge accounts

Account sizes

Prices as the firm lists them

$50K

$49

$100K

$99

$150K

$199

What this programme asks of you

One-Step — Trading Combine

6%

Profit target

3–4% EOD trailing depending on size

Max drawdown

0% mandatory; optional 2% soft Daily Loss Limit

Daily loss limit

2 evaluation trading days minimum under the 50% consistency target

Min trading days

90% to trader for current XFA and Live Funded payouts

Profit split

Drawdown is measured on end-of-day trailing maximum loss limit; monitored in real time and locks at starting balancePayout cycle: At XFA activation choose Standard qualification or Consistency qualification; request once the selected path is satisfiedScales to $750K

Every rule, stated

Including the ones firms leave off their pricing page.

Expert advisorsNot stated
Copy tradingNot stated
News tradingNot stated
Holding overnightNot stated
Holding over the weekendNot stated
Consistency rule

A consistency rule caps how much of your total profit may come from a single day, so one outsized trade will not pass the challenge on its own.

Topstep's conditions for this programme

Targets are $3,000 / $6,000 / $9,000 and Maximum Loss Limits are $2,000 / $3,000 / $4,500 on $50K / $100K / $150K. Optional soft DLL is $1,000 / $2,000 / $3,000. XFA Standard payout qualification requires five $150+ winning days; Consistency qualification requires three days and 40% consistency.

Payout methods

Prop-to-Brokerage payout (U.S.)Aeropay (U.S. banks)WiseACH (U.S. banks)Wire / SWIFT

Final Verdict

Is Topstep Trusted or a Risk for Futures Traders?

Verdict: High Risk under the current Prop Firm Bridge methodology. Topstep receives a 1 / 100 PFB Score. Under the exact category rule, any score from 0 to 33.33 is High Risk.

The account structure itself is well defined in the current record: a one-step Trading Combine, EOD trailing Maximum Loss Limit, 50% evaluation consistency, Standard or No Activation Fee billing and two Express Funded payout qualification choices. Topstep also has a long operating history. However, the purpose of this verdict is to reflect the current PFB score consistently. A 1 / 100 rating cannot logically be described as balanced, Moderate or Trusted. Traders should independently review the methodology and current Topstep terms before deciding whether the product fits them.

PFB Score Breakdown

CategoryRating
Trading Conditions0.2 / 5
User Friendliness0.0 / 5
Payout Process0.1 / 5
Customer Care0.1 / 5
Total Score1 / 100
Prop Firm Bridge Star Rating0.1 / 5
Risk StatusHigh Risk

Prop Firm Bridge Recommendation Score: 1 / 100

Recommendation: Prop Firm Bridge does not recommend treating Topstep as a low-risk futures prop firm at its current 1 / 100 score.

0.1/5

User Rating

1/100

PFB Score

Visit Topstep

Frequently Asked Questions

Prop Firm Bridge currently scores Topstep 1 / 100, which places it at the bottom of the High Risk category under the current PFB methodology. Topstep has a long operating history and a clearly documented Trading Combine structure, but this review's overall verdict must follow the current PFB score. Traders should read both the methodology and Topstep's current account terms independently before deciding whether the product fits their own risk tolerance.

The current core Trading Combine uses an end-of-day trailing Maximum Loss Limit of $2,000 on $50K, $3,000 on $100K and $4,500 on $150K. The loss floor is monitored under the current rules and eventually locks at the starting balance. This is separate from the optional soft Daily Loss Limit. Traders should calculate futures contract risk from the actual Maximum Loss Limit rather than the nominal account balance.

A Daily Loss Limit is not mandatory on the current core Trading Combine and Express Funded structure. Traders can select an optional fixed soft Daily Loss Limit equal to 2% of nominal account size, which is $1,000 on $50K, $2,000 on $100K and $3,000 on $150K. The optional daily control is separate from the overall EOD trailing Maximum Loss Limit.

At Express Funded activation, the current structure lets traders choose between Standard and Consistency payout qualification. Standard requires five winning days with at least $150 profit on each qualifying day and no payout consistency target. The Consistency path uses three traded days plus a 40% consistency target. Other balance, minimum and payout-cap rules apply. Current XFA and Live Funded payouts use a 90% trader share.

The current PFB Score stored for Topstep is 1 / 100. Under the exact category system used on Prop Firm Bridge, scores from 0 to 33.33 are labeled High Risk. The review therefore cannot call the firm Moderate or Trusted without contradicting the score. The rating is an editorial assessment under the PFB methodology and should be read separately from Topstep's age, brand recognition and individual account features.

Any trader considering Topstep should independently evaluate the Trading Combine, EOD Maximum Loss Limit, evaluation consistency, recurring billing, XFA payout choices and current Live progression. Prop Firm Bridge's current 1 / 100 score means the site does not present it as a low-risk recommendation. Traders should use the score as one input alongside their own review of the official account agreement and current product terms.

Firm Overview

1/100
Visit Firm

STATUS: HIGH RISK